ANZAOMS Awards 2023

Article by Kate Steward

It was with great pleasure that ANZAOMS President, Dr Patrishia Bordbar, presented the following 2023 ANZAOMS awards at the ASM in Sydney this May.

ANZAOMS Distinguished Service Award 2023

The ANZAOMS Distinguished Service Award for 2023 was presented to A/Prof Dylan Hyam. A/Prof Hyam has an impressive professional and academic record and has made an outstanding contribution to OMS in Australia as a leader, educator, and innovator over many years.

Among his many achievements, A/Prof Hyam has been the chair of the OMS examinations committee for the RACDS since 2014 and has used his tenure to overhaul both the SST and final examinations in collaboration with the Australian Centre for Educational Research (ACER) and is the lead of the Curriculum Review for OMS, again in collaboration with ACER.

A/Prof Hyam has worked tirelessly to raise the bar of the specialty and improve the training opportunities and experiences for trainees.

President’s Award

The President’s award is given to an individual who has particularly supported and assisted the Association and the speciality. The recipient of the President’s award is Professor Andrew Heggie AM.

Professor Andrew Heggie has demonstrated an outstanding lifetime contribution to the Specialty. Professor Heggie was at the forefront of government negotiations that led to the establishment of Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery as a primary surgical speciality. He has served as President of ANZAOMS from 2013- 2015 and held numerous committee posts.

Professor Heggie is internationally regarded for his innovative approach to management of congenital and craniofacial deformities. Professor Heggie’s dedication to the specialty, through his enduring commitment to ANZAOMS, and his depth of scientific prestige are a source of inspiration.

2022 Robert M Cook Medal

The Robert M Cook medal is awarded to the FRACDS OMS candidate with the highest mark in the final exam. Due to the timing of the final examinations this was not able to be presented at the 2022 ASM and therefore was presented as part of the 2023 awards. The winner of the 2022 Robert M Cook award was Dr Brenton Wilson.

IAOMS Foundation and ANZAOMS Scholarship 2023 – ICOMS Vancouver

The IAOMS Foundation and ANZAOMS partnered to support a 2023 ICOMS Travel Scholarship whereby a regional association supports a young surgeon by funding travel expenses to the ICOMS meeting. The 2023 ANZAOMS ICOMS Travel Scholarship was awarded to Dr Brenton Wilson from New Zealand.

We congratulate all our award winners.

Related News